Did Ruslana change your life?How? (2)

- Forums - Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics - Rules - FAQ -

-  -  - English - Deutsch - 

Ruslana Forum / Eurovision / Did Ruslana change your life?How?
<< . 1 . 2 . 3 . >>
Erik_
# Posted: 8 Jun 2004 16:00

Hehe ok.. thank you and sorry for being a bit stupid...=D

Nedved
# Posted: 8 Jun 2004 16:03

Erik_ That's ok that you don't know about it, you're from Sweden... :)

Mark
# Posted: 8 Jun 2004 18:02

Erik,
I'm not an expert on this, but basically Ukrainian and Russian are closely related but different languages. They are definitely not dialects of one language. The alphabet in Ukrainian differs slightly from the Russian one (Ruslana's surname, for example, is spelt slightly differently in Russian and Ukrainian!), and the grammar and vocabulary, whilst related, are significantly different.
The best comparison is to say that Ukrainian and Russian are related in the same way as Swedish and Norwegian. In other words, they are both branches of the same family, yet still distinct.
Having said that, I have read that Russian is still very widely spoken in many areas of Ukraine, including Kyiv, whilst Ukrainian is more commonly spoken in the West of the country, including L'viv.
Now that Ukraine is independent, I would expect to see Ukrainian becoming the main language everywhere in the country. I hope so.

_sick_driver_
# Posted: 8 Jun 2004 19:31

Mark
Let's just say that the Russians took the ukrainian and polish language and mixed them together ;]
Also, many Ukrainian patriots are hoping that Ukraine's main language will be Ukrainian. That is why many ukrianian literature professors are trying to purify the ukrainian dictionaries, so that they only contain ukrainian words :]

[.natalka.]

Marika
# Posted: 9 Jun 2004 09:41

The good thing about knowing Ukrainian is that once you can speak Ukrainian you can understand vertually all the slovakian languages :)